Wednesday, December 28, 2011

OTA Update for HTC Desire HD with HTC Sense 3.0

HTC Desire HD Screenshot

HTC has been releasing OTA updates for Desire HD and Incredible S this month as Christmas/New Year present(?) and we're excited to know that finally the update is available for Desire HD in Malaysia!

The update is going to upgrade your phone to Android 2.3.5 and HTC Sense 3.0! Now, you can screenshot your phone and the awesome lock screen!
To check whether you have updates, go to Settings > About Phone > Software Updates and tap 'Check Now'. You will be notified if there's an update. Good Luck!

Monday, November 7, 2011

First wave of HTC devices to receive upgrades to Ice Cream Sandwich

HTC has announced today that the first wave of HTC phone that will receive upgrades to Google's latest version of Android, Ice Cream Sandwich are HTC Vivid, HTC Sensation, HTC Sensation XL and HTC Sensation XE, as well as the HTC Rezound, HTC EVO 3D, HTC EVO Design 4G and HTC Amaze 4G through close integration with their carrier partners in early 2012!!!

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Android App: Saving Bob Live Wallpaper

Save Bob! Don't let your battery die out..
Bob is a naughty and arrogant dog from a small island called Yogua. One day this naughty dog accidentally bit Mr. Plumber a little too hard in the butt, OUCH! Mr.Plumber tied Bob to one of the pipes in the basement to teach him a lesson. But wait, there's a leak in the pipes and the water level is rising as your battery runs out! Save Bob by making sure your mobile phone never runs out of juice! If your battery level is too low, Bob the Dog will drown!

Here's a video of Bob drowning!

Download Saving Bob Live Wallpaper here.

Friday, October 21, 2011

HTC Sensation Power Button Issue After Upgrading

Ever since I updated my HTC Sensation to Android 2.3.4, my power button has been acting up.

Firstly, when I hit the power button to turn the screen off, the screen goes off for half a second then comes back on again.
Secondly, when I hit the Home button, it automatically takes a screenshot (it should only take screenshot when I press power button followed by Home button). Both these scenarios happen 50% of the time.

So I sent it back for warranty. After a week, I got it back. They claimed that nothing is wrong with my power button and they tested it everyday. Nevertheless, they replaced me with a new back cover. However, the problem persists.

I sent it back to warranty again, stating that the problem is still there despite using a new back cover. After a week, finally I got my phone back and the problem is fixed now. According to them, they've replaced a part called Rigid Flex. Til now, I still don't understand why a software update could cause hardware malfunction.

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Android Ice Cream Sandwich Features

Here's some of the enhancements found in Ice Cream Sandwich:
  • Virtual buttons in the UI, instead of taking up a capacitive screen
  • Widgets are in a new tab, listed in a similar list to apps
  • Folders are much easier to create, with a drag-and-drop style similar to iOS
  • A customizable launcher
  • New phone app with visual voicemail functionality that lets you speed up or slow down voicemail messages
  • Pinch-to-zoom functionality in the calendar
  • Gmail has offline search, a two-line preview, and new action bar at the bottom
  • Swipe left or right to switch between Gmail conversations
  • Integrated screenshot capture by holding power and volume down buttons
  • Improved error correction on the keyboard
  • Ability to access apps directly from lock screen (similar to HTC Sense 3.x)
  • Improved copy and paste
  • Better voice integration
  • Face Unlock, a facial recognition service
  • New tabbed web browser, allowing up to 16 tabs
  • Browser now automatically syncs your Chrome bookmarks
  • Modern "Roboto" font
  • Data Usage section in settings lets you set warnings when you reach a certain amount of use and disabling data when you go over your limit
  • Ability to kill off apps that are using data in the background
  • Camera app: zero shutter lag, time lapse settings, zoom while recording
  • Built-in photo editor
  • New gallery layout, organized by location and person
  • Refreshed people app with social network integration, status updates and hi-res images
  • Android Beam, a NFC feature that lets you exchange websites, contact info, directions, YouTube, etc.
Source: Engadget

Saturday, August 13, 2011

HTC EVO 3D coming to Malaysia!

According to Cubic Platform, the HTC EVO 3D is coming to Malaysia by next week.
It was said that the available units are limited and some of the units come preloaded with movies as well (most probably 3D movies).
You can get more details from their Facebook page here.
Last but not least, the most important piece of information regaarding this phone...the RRP!
It was said that the RRP will be RM 2,199 (CHEAPER THAN HTC SENSATION!).

Here's the specification of this phone:-
Networks : CDMA 800 and 1900, WiMax 802.16e.
OS : Android 2.3 with HTC Sense 3.0.
Display : 4.3-inch S-LCD display (540 x 960).
Camera : Dual 5MP rear cameras for 3D, 1.3 MP front facing camera.
Memory : 1GB RAM, 4GB of internal storage.
WLAN : 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n Wi-Fi.
Bluetooth : Bluetooth 3.0.
Battery : 1730 mAh LiIon battery.
Special features: 3D capable display, HTC Sense 3.0, 2D 1080p video capture.
Chipset : 1.2 GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon dual-core processor

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

New update for HTC Desire HD

There's a new update for Desire HD user which includes a fix for wi-fi connectivity issues that some users are experiencing with their devices. This update will bring the software version to 2.50.405.2.

The update isn't available for Malaysian user yet (which I've checked with my friend who is using the phone) but it shouldn't be long. If you did not receive a notification to update, you can manually check for the update by pressing the menu key while you're in the home screen->Settings->About Phone->Software updates and then click on the Check now button.

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

New Android Market

Google has been rolling out a new Android Market with Movie and Book Rental (only in US).
Some has already received the notification to update but not everyone get the notification to update.
If you just cant wait for the notification, you can get the apk file at the link below. 
Some reports complication with the new Android Market thus you may want to wait for it to be officially pushed to you. However, I've tried it and doesn't encounter any complication so far.
Below is the official video showing the new Android Market. Enjoy!

Download here: New Android Market

Sunday, July 10, 2011

HTC Sensation OTA Update is available for Malaysia now!

The first OTA update for the HTC Sensation is out now for Asian devices which means Malaysia as well.
This update will bring some improvements but not to unlock the bootloader.
You can read about the improvements here.

HTC has also announced via their Facebook page that the update to unlock the bootloader will be available around August. Below is the message:-

"We wanted to provide an update on HTC’s progress with bringing bootloader unlocking to our newest phones. We know how excited some of you are for this capability, and we’ve put significant resources behind making this change as soon as possible. While we wish we could flip a simple switch and unlock all bootloaders across our device portfolio, this is actually a complex challenge that requires a new software build and extensive testing to deliver the best possible customer experience.

We’re thrilled to announce today that software updates to support bootloader unlocking will begin rolling out in August for the global HTC Sensation, followed by the HTC Sensation 4G on T-Mobile USA and the HTC EVO 3D on Sprint. We’re in the testing phase for the unlocking capability now, and we expect it to be fully operational by early September for devices that have received the software updates. We'll continue rolling out the unlocking capability over time to other devices as part of maintenance releases and new shipments.

HTC continues its commitment to unlocking bootloaders and supporting the developer community. Because of the importance of this community to us, please expect an update on this about every few weeks as we make progress toward launch. Thank you for your patience and continued support!"

August is coming soon and I can't wait for this update to roll out.

Thursday, July 7, 2011

HTC Sensation OTA Update available for Europe

The first OTA update for the HTC Sensation is released but only for unbranded European devices which means devices that wasn't customize by carrier.

The update brings some changes that will make your phone smoother, better wi-fi performance and longer battery life.

Below is the review of the update courtesy of Sensation Devs.

"After a month of working with version 1.28, 1.35 leaked last weekend (thanks Football), so I flashed it right away!
This version was for ‘unbranded’ devices only, that means it has been made for devices without customization of carriers. This unbranded devices are normally called ‘vanilla’. The nice thing with unbranded devices is that you can flash the newest software update from HTC without waiting for your carrier to approve it. In practice the carriers release the updates months later than HTC because they have to put their customization (bootanimation, apps etc.) before they release them to the customers.

But ok, back to the update…
We are eagerly waiting for the update by HTC that will unlock the Sensation. Unfortunately, nothing changed after this update, the Sensation is still S-ON. This means you can only flash software made by HTC, no custom roms can be flashed yet. Too bad for the development community…

The new update brings a lot of improvements that you won’t see but feel.
HTC seems to work on optimizing the software to get the maximum performance out of this device. Besides the cosmetic improvements there are also some differences under the hood. Just to mention some, the agenda, camera, contacts, gallery, twitter and Sense have being improved, and there’s a new version of them on this update.

HTC Sense has been improved a lot, not in the looks, but in its performance.
Sense first consisted of several so-called modules, that were loaded separately depending on what the user did in Sense. This meant less memory usage, but more memory fragmentation. In detail, memory fragmentation increases the battery usage and can slow down the phone. Because people were complaining about the lag on Sense, HTC redesigned Sense and made it into 1 module instead of several separate modules. This results are positive, and Sense is now faster and a lot smoother.

This update includes a new, improved, radio.
After purchasing the phone, I wasn’t really satisfied with the signal strength. While any other HTC device had enough Wi-Fi signal to chill in the garden while browsing the internet, the Sensation was not getting any signal at all. Happily enough, HTC did a good job on the latest radio and now I won’t lose my wifi connection anymore when I’m moving far from the router. Despite this improvement, I still think they can do better with it.

Battery life – a hot topic now that smartphones become increasingly powerful and consume more power.
The battery life was good before the update, and now it is even better. Sense has been improved and optimized to use less power and the new radio manages the wireless connections of the phone efficiently and saves battery power. Also, charging is much faster now.

All in all, this update is worth the shot. Do not expect vast improvements but it will make your phone snappier, improve your Wi-Fi performance and make your battery last longer.

The full potential of the Sensation will be unleashed once we get root and S-OFF. Everyone is looking forward to custom roms, and I hope we can flash this beast soon!"

The update isn't available in Malaysia yet but hope it'll be soon.

Wednesday, July 6, 2011

HTC Sensation and Samsung Galaxy S II problems

Two of the long awaited Android smartphone namely the HTC Sensation and Samsung Galaxy S II has been made available to buyers for a not-very-long period but many proud owners of these devices has been reporting problems with their devices.

I've searched some popular forums and has compiled a list of some of the problems reported by these owners:-

HTC Sensation
- Death Grip issue where wi-fi signals will drop from full bar to 1 bar or sometimes even loses the signal altogether when you grip/squeeze the right top side of the phone.
- Multiple Screen Issues.
  • First, the screen sometimes misses the first press which means that you may need to press several times before it register your touch.
  • Second, when you scroll through your screen such as scrolling through your app drawer, it sometimes register the brushing as press thus opening app accidentally.
  • Third, the lock screen sometimes display only in the upper part of the screen leaving a black screen on the lower part of the screen. And sometimes, the phone is difficult to unlock when you swipe the ring.
  • Lastly, some of the third party widget will display multiple lines on the widget. The lines will move with the widget and will not disappear unless you remove the widget and add it back again. However, the lines will come back once a while and you will need to repeat these steps again.

Samsung Galaxy S II
- Pink/Red spot in camera

- Yellow tint on the left side of the screen. Mostly visible if the background is grey or black color

- Weak wi-fi signal compared to other device with the same distance. It only shows 1 or 2 bars when other device is showing full bar.
- Device gathers too much heat after playing games for a while (some reported as fast as 15 minute). It can goes up to around 60 celcius and sometimes might even shut itself off/freezes because of the overheat.

Well, I guess nothing is perfect but hope all this issues will be fixed soon with a software update if possible. If I miss any other problems, please let me know. I'll update the list.

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

HTC Sensation offered by Digi

Digi is offering the HTC Sensation with their Smart Plan and here's the details of the package offered:-
RRP: RM 2,299
12 Months Contract: RM 1,699
24 Months Contract: RM 1,399

Maxis is also offering the HTC Sensation too. Read it here

Now which one would you prefer?

Maxis Offers HTC Sensation and Samsung Galaxy S II

Maxis is offering both of the most anticipated dual-core android phone which is the HTC Sensation and the Samsung Galaxy S II.

Below is the package offered:-
HTC Sensation
RRP: RM 2,299
12 Months Contract: RM 1,799 (500MB) and RM 1,599 (1.5GB and 3GB)
18 Months Contract: RM 1,699 (500MB) and RM 1,499 (1.5GB and 3GB)
24 Months Contract: RM 1,599 (500MB) and RM 1,399 (1.5GB and 3GB)

Samsung Galaxy S II
RRP: RM 2,099
12 Months Contract: RM 1,799 (500MB) and RM 1,599 (1.5GB and 3GB)
18 Months Contract: RM 1,649 (500MB) and RM 1,499 (1.5GB and 3GB)
24 Months Contract: RM 1,599 (500MB) and RM 1,399 (1.5GB and 3GB)
From 22 June to 22 July 2011, you can save RM 200 when you contract the Samsung Galaxy S II for 24 months for both the 500MB and (1.5GB and 3GB) package.

Here's the link to the full specification of the HTC Sensation and the Samsung Galaxy S II.

Do read up on the review of each device before deciding on which one suits you more.

Monday, June 13, 2011

Samsung Galaxy S II coming soon to Malaysia

The long awaited Samsung Galaxy S II is coming to Malaysia soon. Maxis has posted in its website that they will be bringing in this smartphone soon and you can register your interest here.

Pricing is still unknown yet but should be revealed pretty soon. I'll update again once it is officially available.

Wednesday, June 8, 2011

HTC Malaysia: Something coming on 10th June 2011

HTC malaysia has posted the above picture in their facebook yesterday and hinted that something is coming soon.

Today, they hinted again that it is something that comes in pink, white and grey. Some say is HTC Watch and some say it is HTC Wildfire S.

Well, details will be revealed tomorrow so I'll keep you updated on what exactly is coming soon.

Update: Turned out it was just a contest that will give away HTC Wilfire S.

Monday, June 6, 2011

New Features in iOS 5

Here's a list of some of the new features in iOS 5:-
1) Notification Center
- to view all your notification in one place

2) iMessage
- push message to chat across multiple iDevices

3) Custom Newsstand for all your subscriptions
- automatically updates your subscription with the latest issue

4) Better reminders
- better ui with location reminder

5) Twitter integrated right into the OS
- tweet directly from Safari, Photos, Camera, YouTube, or Maps. You can even add a location to any tweet, no matter which app you’re tweeting from.

6) Camera
- access your camera from the the lock screen and capture image by pressing the volume up button

7) Photo
- more photo enhancements without even leaving the photo app

8) Safari
- tab browsing, save a page for later reading and Reader lets you view web articles free of clutter.

9) PC Free
- sync across iDevices without the need of a PC

...and many more other features (over 200 new features). You can read about all other features from Apple's website

Htc Sensation: Free Premium Navigation

Do you know your HTC Sensation comes with Premium Navigation? When you purchase you Sensation, you are given a voucher code inside your box.

Then from your phone, go to 'Location' app and then enter your voucher code. You will then be able to use the premium navigation for free.

However, the premium navigation comes with voice navigation but only for a 30-Days trial. After that, you will still be able to use the premium navigation but without voice.

Thus, if you are looking for voice navigation, you might want to consider other Navigation app but if you are fine without the voice (just like me) then having free premium navigation is good enough.

Update: Premium Navigation is free for life once you've entered the Voucher Code.

By the way, if you are using HTC Desire HD, you get this premium navigation for free as well. And the best part is that you won't even need to enter the voucher code. Just go to your 'Location' app and that's it.

Update: Other HTC Phone like Desire HD only comes with 30-Day trial unless you have the voucher code.

Friday, June 3, 2011

HTC Sensation Promotion (Malaysia). Read this before you buy!

HTC Sensation is available in Malaysia now and you can get it at RM 2,299.
However, before you purchase the phone, here's are the promotion I found and would like to share with you.

Cubic Platforms is selling the HTC Sensation at RM 2,299 bundled with HTC Original Car Charger and HTC Original Screen Protector worth RM 168. Cubic Platforms is located at Sunway Giza, Kota Damansara.

Sen Heng is also having a Smartphone Fair Promotion where you can get the HTC Sensation at RM 2,299 bundled with an in-car charger (not sure if it is HTC original car charger), bluetooth headset and 16GB microSD card worth RM 149. If you are a PlusOne member, you get additional RM 30 discount too!

Below is the brochure of Sen Heng's promotion. You can view the full brochure here

As you can see in the brochure, Sen Heng's promotion for HTC Sensation starts from 10th June until 30th June 2011. Thus, if you just can't wait any longer, might as well get it from Cubic Platforms.

If you are interested in other phones, do check out Sen Heng's brochure as they have promotions for other phones too :)

Update: Cubic Platforms actually bundled with HTC Original Car Upgrade Kit and not just the car charger. Means you get the car holder, windscreen suction mount and also the car charger.

Wednesday, June 1, 2011

HTC Sensation available in Malaysia (for real this time)

Cubic Platforms has just announced that they already have the HTC Sensation on hand now.
The HTC Sensation was supposed to be available on 1st June 2011 but was delayed (check my previous post here).

So, head on to Cubic Platforms now at Sunway Giza, Kota Damansara and try it out.
You can even purchased it right now at RM 2,299!

Well, no time to spare..heading to get it now...end.

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

HTC Sensation available in Malaysia on 1st of June 2011

HTC first dual-core superphone, The HTC Sensation, will be available in Malaysia tomorrow, 1st of June 2011 according to Cubic Platform.

It was said to be launched around 1.30 pm and retailing at RM 2,299. You may want to see it first at Sunway Giza, Kota Damansara.

Here's the specification of the phone:-

Networks:GSM 850, 900, 1800, 1900, UMTS 900, 1700/2100, 2100
Operating system:Android 2.3 Gingerbread with HTC Sense 3.0
Display:4.3-inch S-LCD Display (540 x 960)
Camera:8MP rear camera with dual LED flash
Memory:768MB of RAM, 1GB of internal storage
WLAN:802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n Wi-Fi
Bluetooth:Bluetooth 3.0
Battery:1520 mAh
Special features:1080p video capture, HTC Sense 3.0, high-res display and blazing processor
Chipset:1.2GHz Qualcomm MSM 8260 dual-core processor

And also the official video to make you drool even more.

Update (1st June 2011, 10.36am):
Oops... Cubic Platforms has just announced that there will be delays in receiving HTC Sensation stock =( We'll just have to continue the wait...

Friday, April 29, 2011

iPad 2 Finally available in Malaysia

The iPad 2 is finally available in Malaysia starting from today. 
Below is the pricing of this long awaited device.
You can head to Apple Store to know more.
Maxis will be offering data plan for the 3G version as well.

Monday, April 11, 2011

Good graphic games for Android

I was searching the internet for  nice graphic games for the Android devices and found these recommended by others. Well, let's checkout the video of each of the recommended games. If you have any other recommendation please post in the comment. I will try to find its video and share it here.

Backbreaker Football

Need For Speed Shift

Modern Combat: Sandstorm


Dungeon Hunter

Raging Thunder 2


Let's Golf!

Baseball Superstars 2010


Saturday, January 15, 2011

Samsung’s Flexible OLED Display

Samsung has unveiled their latest display technology in the CES 2011.
It shows off a flexible OLED display which was made of plastic in place of the a glass.
The display is really slim and it can take various forms since it is a flexible display.
Check out the video below for the hands-on.

This is really awesome. Think of the possibilities that this display can bring. If a smartphone is to utilize this display then maybe we'll get a touchscreen phone that you can actually strap on your wrist!
What other possibilities that you can think of? Probably you saw device(s) that uses similar display technology in any sci-fi movie before?